top of page
Search
jialinm1

Week3: Reflection-Habit of Mind

Updated: Mar 13, 2021


1. Curiosity

Every time I see titles of weekly assigned readings, I usually click on that and do those readings at first closely, especially when titles are about how females are “culturally” created.


2. Openness

Except being interested in passages/videos about females, the passage about how the man to some degree is also “culturally” created, such as this week’s early assigned reading, “Toxic Masculinity.”


3. Engagement

I feel being involved to a large degree when I do close reading through the progression circle on Connect website. That circle guides me to stick on the passage that I have to read which helps me not only promote my study efficiency but also save my time.


4. Creativity

When I was asked to connect what I read and what I watch with my daily life, the habit of being creative shows that I could represent ideas in a different way. For example, in the activity of exploratory writing of Week 2 for video Killing Us Softly 4 & Looking into the Magic Mirror, I could use what I advertisements I saw in daily life to represent the topic—how females were culturally advertised and modified through the history.


5. Persistence

When I was doing peer reviewing for weekly exploratory writing, I had to be persistent since I needed to not merely reading but also be critically giving reviews/feedbacks.


6. Flexibility

I haven’t developed flexibility since I thought no activities required me to do that. I think providing passages that take the opposite side about what we are learning about gender shaping.


7.Responsibility

Because of being responsible, I usually finish assignments before deadlines.


8.Metacognition (Reflection)

From Week1 to Week3, all activities help me structure knowledge not only about cultural parts throughout the life but also about myself. For instance, when I was looking at Kill Us Softly 4, I started to realize that I, as a female, processed objectification a lot.

11 views4 comments

4 commentaires


Wei Huang
Wei Huang
01 févr. 2021

Hello Jialin, your passage about metacognition was very relatable. Throughout the first few weeks, I was also required to think of our structure of the world, something I never thought I would challenge.

J'aime

Pan Zhang
Pan Zhang
01 févr. 2021

I agree with you. I also think the level of participation required for this class is high. Especially with a large number of peer reviews.

J'aime

Yi Jiang
Yi Jiang
01 févr. 2021

Hi Jian,

I think your engagement really give me a connected feeling towards writing, I could not focus on hard readings, but in this class we are told to annotate and close reading is very helpful in engaging in harder subjects, I also think your respobinslity of turning things in time is pretty funny.

J'aime

Peihao Hu
Peihao Hu
31 janv. 2021

Hi, your blog also gives me a new idea about engagement. In my blog, I said I am willing to participate in group work of class meeting. Meanwhile, close reading actually is another way to engage in this class. I'll try your idea, thanks.

J'aime
bottom of page