top of page
Search
jialinm1

Week10: Extra Credit Blog-Farewell Responses to SIX classmates

I gave 6 responses to 6 different fellow classmates at the end of the quarter:


1. Kexin Zhang--

Hi Kexin! I also realize that this course requires so many multimedia assignments to do which is unexpected, to be honest. This issue could also be found when I was trying to create my own website through Wix. Though Wix is friendly to me, as a novice of creating a webpage, it is still hard to me to creating a webpage with simplicity and beauty. However, when multimedia skills coming to you, I believe that you did a good job because you edited an outstanding audio podcast for our group. Thank you for taking the role of editing, take your time to do that! Wish you a perfect GPA for this quarter and all following quarters!


2. Tianai Guo--

Hi, Tianai! I like your last part about philosophical thinking of feminism and equity or equality and the attached picture! They are very insightful and inspiring! I can see your "unsafe" feeling and maybe understand to some degree, but I would like to offer another angle toward dealing with such feeling--every book, paper that we read, every course that we enroll and take, every person that we listen to usually can only provide one angle or some angles on how to view and contemplate one theme or one topic. Just consider this course as a start point to push us to contemplate society, gender and equity or equality would be a better choice to dealing with your "unsafe" feeling! Hope everything goes well through your final week!


3. Kai Wen--

Hi Kai! I cannot agree with you more that podcast is one of the most transformative learning experience for me! Before taking this course and completing this assignment, I was always the listener to others' podcast since my senior high school. The podcast project gave me the first opportunity to be one of producers from planning to completing and posting the podcast and its microsite. Same as you, the podcast project made me learn a lot and made me feel much more confident since I could say that I had an experience in making one podcast with others successfully!


4. Jenny Kim--

Hi, Jenny! Same as you, time management and making webpage through Wix are two issues or challenges that I encounter throughout the quarter for this course. To be honest, these two issues are sometimes closely related or even overlapped. This is because making a webpage for the first time requires me to spend so much time on finding set-up settings, creating and then fixing again and again which means that I would spend much time on both managing layout of webpage and text of the webpage. However, starting making webpage first time is the basis of being good at making it. Hope we will become good at creating webpage in the nearer future!


5. Yinda Chen--

Hi, Yinda! My group also met the same situation as your group when we were attempting to record the podcast through Zoom! To be honest, I have not considered that situation, extending from settled one-hour meeting to four-hour meeting, as an issue that challenged me. That was because that I knew that could happen, and I even expected that. There was a solution or angle to tackle for such situation: lower your expectation level of the fluidity, the speed, or the effectiveness, of working together, communicating, recording and completing. Still, hope that situation would not bother you in your future team work, and hope you have a great final week!


6. Yuzhen Lang--

Hi Yuzhen! It's so nice to see you and your group finally tackled the collaborative problem though you all have different characteristics! I think that would an important lesson for you, except the content that you guys could talk about the course question and the topic. Next time, trying to distributing roles or tasks for each group member before actually writing the script for podcast would be a better choice. For letting others to choose task before preparation, stating and clarifying your own task or role at first seems like an effective way. Hope you would not meet that collaborative problem again in your following team work, and hope you have a nice final week!


Because of the pandemic, I take this course Writing 39A in an all-online environment. Working with other in such environment makes me realize and understand the importance of showing respect. Usually, when doing peer reviewing or purely commenting, stating my fellow classmates and typing them correctly would be the first step to showing my respect. In turn, seeing my name is typed correctly by my classmates makes me feel respected and cared. Such experience makes me become a better communicator because I know that how to start a conversation with others by calling their names correctly, not calling ones with something like "hey, you!" The podcast project is also a vital experience for me to learn how to become a better communicator. When my group members' thoughts and suggestions got "head to head," we toke several polls to decide. This challenged me about the way and the mode to work with others as a team/group, or a unit.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page